Dwyer Bowl 2019 – Royal wins Bowl; Federal wins Junior Dwyer!

Published in Uncategorized

Royal Canberra retained the Dwyer Bowl with an aggregate stableford points win over hosts Federal on Sunday 18 August; the final score being 286 points to 278. However, our wonderful Federal Juniors came to the rescue. Captained by Leighton Price, Federal Juniors retained the Junior Dwyer Trophy with a close 169 – 166 points win over Royal. The event was conducted in great spirit and camaraderie between the two Clubs. The Bowl was donated in 1950 by then Royal Canberra member Les Dwyer who wished to foster relations between the two Clubs. Les had previously been the first Secretary of Federal Golf Club, a post he held from 1933-1937.  After lapsing for several years, the competition has been played continuously since 1991 with both clubs pledging to continue this association between friendly rivals and golf industry partners. The Junior Dwyer Trophy was donated by then Club Captain Bob Correll in 2018 and both clubs have also welcomed this additional opportunity to foster Junior golf.  Thank you very much to Federal’s management, green keeping team, the catering staff, the Golf Operations department, Junior Coordinator and the Match Committee for assisting with the conduct of another successful event at Federal.


Kevin McLoughlin



Individual prizes: Best RCGC (Mac Howell 37 c/b): Best FGC (Doug Robertson 35); Best RCGC Junior (Josh Hayman 34); Best FGC Junior (Cassie Linares 33).           NTPs: 3rd – Russ Shalders (RCGC); 16th – Vic Gibbons (FGC)


Article Photo:  Kevin McLoughlin presents Dwyer Bowl to Royal Canberra Captain, Kerry Clarke


Federal Junior Team Captain Leighton Price accepts the Junior Dwyer; pictured with Royal Canberra Junior Oscar Wilson.

← Back to previous page